A Map of Thinking – Part 2

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m working my way through the book Making Thinking Visible by Ron Ritchhart, Mark Church and Karin Morrison.  Since the main objective of this strategy is to reveal what our students are thinking so that we can further their learning and dispel misconceptions, then it makes sense that we should first be very familiar with the types of thinking. The authors divided the types of thinking into two main lists based on the thinking goal. The first list is focused on thinking moves involved in understanding. The second list is focused on another group of goals, specifically solving problems, making decisions, and forming judgements. Because this is not a hierarchical list, I wanted to make a non-linear representation of these lists to help me wrap my mind around it and to refer to when I’m lesson planning. Below are a couple screen shots of the prezi that I created for the second list. The screen shots of the first prezi are on yesterday’s blog post.

As I was thinking about this list of thinking moves, I kept thinking about the Standards of Mathematical Practice. Has anyone thought about these connections or done any work to connect them?

prezi pictureprezi picture2

Leave a Reply

